Now that the PhD is finished and I am fully graduated I can start thinking realistically about what to do next. I have had a few thoughts in the last few months, but I think the one that I may settle on is looking at children’s responses to their experiences. The project is inspired by a couple of online archive collections I have found, one from 9th Edinburgh Scouts and the other from 2nd Southampton Scouts. Both of these groups have material which, unusually has been written by the scouts themselves rather than the adults. Most of the archives I have looked at earlier have been written from the adults which provides a different view than the Scouts can give. I hope that by looking at these collections of log books and newspapers I will be able to add the children’s experiences back into academic discussions of childhood.

