Tags

, , , ,

OK, yes, I realise that it IS wrong to steal from archives, but I admit that I did have a moment when I did think about it (although I would never have done it!)

I was visiting the Scottish Jewish Archives in Glasgow and looking through records of Jewish Guide Units in the city. The boxes I looked through were full of treasures – not just paper records, but items from the unit as well. As a former Guide, I had some massively nerdy moments in the archives (thankfully I was in a room on my own) and I spent a lot of time looking through books and artefacts that were totally unrelated to my research but spiked my own personal interest.

The one thing in particular that I was deeply interested in was the collection of badges. I have two ‘camp blankets’ full with badges that I used to take on every Guide event, and my friends know to get me embroidered badges if they ever go any where exciting, so seeing a collection of 1930s Guide badges was really exciting for me. Yes, I had a nerdy moment and no, I don’t care!

Badges sent to a Jewish Guide Unit in Glasgow from one in Israel

Badges sent to a Jewish Guide Unit in Glasgow from one in Israel

More Foreign Badges

The Unit's collection of badges

The Unit’s collection of badges

