Tags

,

I am now at the point in my PhD where I have written half of what I need to do. Hopefully, by December I will have written everything. Of course it will need some serious editing, but the fact that most of it will be written down is excellent and fills me with happiness. Last week I had myfirst article accepted for a proper grown up journal, I am finishing a book review and later this month I will be speaking at an international conference. So everything is going well. Seeing as I am now half way through with my writing I figured that now would be a good time to talk about some of the things that I have learnt so far during the past two years.

1. I will still put things off to the last minute. I certainly have the best intentions to improve, but still, everything happens pretty close to the deadline

2. I will not work for 8 hours a day, monday to Friday. In fact, I work more at the weekends and if I work during the week it is only for a few hours

3. Despite what people told me, I have not yet had to avoid my supervisor. Nor have I missed a deadline

4. I work best when I am busy. Very busy. Right now for instance I am working a full time job, preparing a journal article, a book review and a conference paper, working on a funding related project and somehow managing to find time to do work on different chapters. Oddly, I have managed to do more over the past few weeks when I have been this busy than when the only thing I am doing has been my PhD

5. I still really love my topic and I feel really lucky to be able to do what I do.

